Science Olympiad A-Team Kicks Off 2017-2018 Competitions

Dec 18 2017

Article by Erica Casareno ’18:

On Saturday, December 16th, the Kellenberg Science Olympiad A-Team began its season by traveling to Islip High School to compete in the LISO Tournament. The team earned fifth place overall, competing against forty-two other teams. Fran Morales (’19) and Owen Haffner (’18) won a gold medal in Mousetrap Vehicle. The duos of Aidan Dowd (’18) and Chelsea-Faith Florita (’19) and Claire DeMarco (’18) and Owen Haffner (’18) won bronze medals in Herpetology and Helicopters. Three fifth-place medals were awarded to Paul Bartolomea (’20) and Meaghan O’Keefe (’21) in Fermi Questions, Polly Taylor (’18) and Aidan York (’20) in Dynamic Planet, and Chelsea-Faith Florita (’19) and Natalie Jean-Michel (’19) in Rocks and Minerals. One seventh-place medal was awarded to Claire DeMarco (’18) in Towers.